How should women get into concealed carry
Charged with four felonies, Gregory Macho attacked two women he did not know in the Boise Towne Square Mall parking lot. He is now charged with kidnapping, battery, aggravated battery, and destruction of evidence.
Macho then blocked in a young women getting into her car outside the JC Penney store. Macho did not know the woman.
“The defendant entered the car, attacked her, attempted to remove her clothing, groped her, choked her,” said prosecutor Brian Naugle. He says another woman heard the victim crying and went to her car to help. Moments later, police say Macho intentionally ran over that woman with his pickup truck. He took several steps to alter the appearance of the truck after the May 14th attack.
According to FBI statistics, Idaho ranks 42nd for violent crime (US Census) the crime rate is the lowest in the West. The rate of serious crime is 21.3 percent less than the national average. This terrifying incident has many women thinking perhaps they should carry a concealed firearm.
The Idaho Attorney General provides a great guide for anyone figuring out how to carry concealed:
- “Open carry” in Idaho does not require a permit. You may carry a firearm in your vehicle inside the city limits or confines of a city, as long as it is in plain view, loaded or unloaded. But if you are going to conceal it, the firearm must be disassembled or unloaded.
- Apply to the county sheriff for a concealed carry license. One course (no test) is required to demonstrate familiarity with the gun. $20 for 5 years, $15 to renew.
Approved courses are:
- A hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Idaho Department of Fish and Game or a similar agency of another state
- A National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course or any National Rifle Association hunter education course;
- A firearms safety or training course or class offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, university, or private or public school or firearms training school. You may wish to utilize instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Idaho State Police
- A law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, law enforcement agencies or security enforcement agencies.
A county sheriff may grant you a license without completing one of the courses if:
- You present evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm through your participation in an organized shooting competition or military service
- You are licensed or have been licensed to carry a firearm in Idaho or an Idaho county or city, unless the license has been revoked for cause.
Are you eligible?
Certain crimes may prevent you from having a concealed permit such as violent crimes.
When thinking about obtaining a firearm such as a handgun, these are some things to consider:
- The type of handgun
- Cost of ammo
- Consider a training course good for more than one state
- Women only classes
- Need to try out several guns
- Can hold them in your hand in gun stores
- Consider competition vs solely for self-defense – if you’re going to compete, or go shooting regularly with friends, you don’t want a tiny gun that is hard to shoot
- Keep in mind where you cannot carry, such as government buildings and businesses that prohibit weapons
You may not carry a concealed weapon in a courthouse, juvenile detention facility, adult correctional facility, prison, jail, public school or private school.
Federal law may prohibit you from carrying a weapon in places such as federal courthouses and airports.
In Idaho, it is ok to carry in a private business unless they forbid it.